Florida has generally been a good state to live in for people who are gun owners or are in favor of gun ownership. The legacy of gun laws in the state of Florida has been more relaxed than many other states in the United States of America. This relaxation and leniency have gone down well with many of the residents here, as they can easily keep a gun without the state meddling with their affairs.
While the laws are still relatively relaxed, there have been a few changes in and around them. In this article, we will take a brief look at Florida gun laws, and see for ourselves the implications that you need to understand pertaining to them.
Gun permits are quite relaxed, but complicated, in the state of Florida. This is because, within the relaxations, there are certain statutes that remind the general public of their responsibility towards ensuring that they remain civil citizens.
Anyone looking to use their guns for recreational purposes or hunting isn’t required to get a permit from the relevant authorities. The only rule in place here is that a gun that has been given a permit for recreational or hunting use shouldn’t be concealed or carried in the open.
The requirements for buying a gun within the state of Florida are quite relaxed. These requirements entail the following:
- You should be 18 years or above to be considered illegible for holding the gun. This minimum age barrier can extend to 21 years or above if the gun type is one that requires a bigger age.
- You should have a valid ID with you.
The gun laws in the state of Florida are unique in the sense that there are different gun laws and regulations pertaining to different guns. Like we have mentioned above, many of the long guns and handguns have different rules than shotguns or a rifle.
As per statutes present within the state laws for gun permits in the state of Florida, you will require permits for holding:
- Concealed carry
- Open carry
- Long guns
Since long guns and handguns are the most common ones used by criminals on crime scenes, the restrictions on them are heavily imposed. The sunshine state also allows you to buy as many guns as you can afford. There are no limits whatsoever on the number of guns that you can carry with yourself.
The state has a relaxed policy when it comes to the guns you can carry, as you can have multiple guns with you at any given time.
Anyone caught in the open with a gun, and without a gun carry permit, can be held for a third-degree felony in the state of Florida. There is a reason why the state administration differentiates between different rules for gun carry, as there are multiple instances that require extreme care and precaution.
If you’re caught carrying a gun in the open, without a permit, the offense would go inside your record and might lead to the following:
- 5 years within a state prison
- 5 years of probation
- A fine of $5000
The punishment you receive for the offense can increase if you already have a felony against your name. The jail time and fine are not set, and it can exceed due to the nature of the offense and the past record that you have.
There are many other implications in Florida gun laws and weapon charges. You can get more info here about these laws to know the regulations for gun possession in the Sunshine State.
The state of Florida, as mentioned above, has a definite policy on carry firearms within a legal manner. As long as you are legally allowed to carry a firearm, you can keep it within your vehicle.
This is a statute that is up for clarification, as many people have confusions when it comes to carrying a gun within their vehicle. There are doubts as to what exactly are the regulations here as public carry requires a special permit, while vehicle carry is allowed for anyone who owns a gun.
The special implication in this law is that the gun you are carrying inside your vehicle must be ‘securely and specifically encased’. In simple terms, your gun should be kept in such a way that it isn’t available for immediate use.
To further clarify and build upon this concept, securely encased over here would mean the following:
- Gun stored within a glove compartment
- Gun stored within a separate gun case that is positioned or kept somewhere safe
- Gun kept in a separate closed box
- Gun strapped within a holster
- Gun enclosed within a container that has a lid on in
Carrying a gun with you in your car, while following the statutes mentioned above, does not qualify as open carry. However, if you have the gun openly in your palms, then you might be held for an offense of open carry.
If you have a gun lying with you on a passenger seat, or any other seat, then you might be considered guilty. You will have to pay fines in such a case. The decision to give the fine would, however, rest on the sole discretion of the officer handling your case. If they believe that you didn’t have any intention to use the gun in public, they will relax the fine. However, if they do feel that you were in a vulnerable state and could have used the gun, then they would apply further charges.
The charges applied here could also be impacted by the presence of a minor in the car. If you have a minor in the car, then the charges or the fines enforced on you would be greater, because of the carelessness and neglect shown by your sign. Guns shouldn’t be exposed or left around in front of minors, while inside a car or outside of one.
While care should be given at all costs, you can also benefit from carrying a carry permit with you. The laws can end up being ambiguous at times, so it is best for you to be on the safe side of things.